Zakk Wylde – Book of Shadows II

Comments are closed

Upon the news of a long awaited sequel to the mellow, two decades old Book of Shadows, I was actually quite thrilled, as the original for me personally, is Zakk Wylde’s finest moment (not counting Ozzy’s No More Tears of course!!)

The album begins with the very southern-tinged “Autumn Changes,” and from the get go Zakk’s vocal style is very calm and mellow, much more so than the usual Black Label Society material. I feel this style suits his abilities as a singer much more effectively. If you are expecting some beer drinking hell raising hard rock, don’t look here, as every track is laid back and soulful.

There is a very natural feel to this record, you get the sense that Mr. Wylde has wanted to do something like this for a while, as he executes both his singing and playing with a sense of pride that can be heard throughout this effort. Even the guitar solos, known for being loud and almost chaotically fast, are slower and more comfortable on most of the tracks. This is not a record you put on to get revved up like virtually any of the Black Label Society catalog (minus hangover music that is) more like one to put on and unwind from a long day or night.

My only complaint about this effort is that a few of the songs sound very similar and the 14 tracks do make it drag just a tad. But those minor complaints don’t hurt the record as a whole as this is a standout record from a man whose already impressive resume will definitely not hurt from this effort!!



Standout tracks: “Autumn Changes”, “The Levee”.

Complete track listing:

  1. Autumn Changes
  2. Tears of December
  3. Lay Me Down
  4. Lost Prayer
  5. Darkest Hour
  6. The Levee
  7. Eyes of Burden
  8. Forgotten Memory
  9. Yesterday’s Tears
  10. Harbors of Pity
  11. Sorrowed Regrets
  12. Useless Apologies
  13. Sleeping Dogs
  14. The King

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: