Phil Anselmo Deals the Blackened Death Metal In New Project: SCOUR

Comments are closed

The Grey EP

What do you get when you combine elements of Cattle Decapitation, Pig Destroyer, Fulgora, Continuum, Strong Intention, Down, and Superjoint Ritual? Unless you are expecting a musical punch to face, that’s as close as this question gets to a punchline!!! The correct answer is blackened death metal fury known as Scour!!!

Yes, their lead singer is the often delved about and sometimes controversial frontman Phil Anselmo, but the material is so strong and not like most projects Mr. Anselmo has been involved in for the last deacade or so. The difference is, groove and ambience are all but thrown aside for straight forward blastbeat brutality!!! There are mosh friendly tempo changes throughout, but as whole this record is not to impress or invent new musical ground. Instead it chooses to strategically pummel the listener, giving brief moments to breathe before the heavy continues!!


Phil unleases his most aggressive and anger filled vocals that we’ve heard in quite some time, complimenting Jesse Schobel’s (Strong Intention,Cast The Stone) controlled but thunderous blastbeat approach to the drums. Guitarists Chase Fraser (Continuum, Decrepit Birth) and Derek Engemann (Cattle Decapitation), as well as bassist John Jarvis (Pig Destroyer, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Fulgora) round out the lineup with pure death metal mastery!!!

From the opening blast fest of “Dispatched” to the sing along breakdown at the end of “Tear Gas”, this isn’t one for those who like Phil’s more accessible work so to speak, but for fans of blackened death metal in general (like Behemoth, Belphegor, Marduk)…this is a must have!!!


Standout tracks: “Crooked”, “Tear Gas”

1. Dispatched
2. Clot
3. Crooked
4. Codes
5. Tactics
6. Tear Gas


Related Posts

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: